Secretary: Jenny Hart

Year and Course:​ 3rd-year MSci Earth Sciences

Role: My role is to safeguard the society's finances and forecast the cost of our events so that our members get the most out of their society.

Email: jennifer.k.hart@durham.ac.uk

Treasurer: Laurence Wayne

Year and Course:​ 3rd-year BSc Geophysics with Geology

Role: My role in the society is to keep things organised, including updating the members list and monitoring the email account, as well as taking minutes during meetings. 

Email: laurence.w.wayne@durham.ac.uk

Arthur Holmes, 1912

The society is named after, locally born, Arthur Holmes who became the first reader in geology at Durham University in 1924. The Durham Earth Sciences department building is also named after him.


Holmes performed the first accurate uranium-lead radiometric dating while he was an undergraduate in London. This led to the publication of his famous book, The Age of the Earth, in which he argues the case for using radioactive methods as a more precise dating technique, compared to more traditional methods.


Throughout his career, Arthur Holmes earned himself the nickname "Father of modern geochronology". 

About Us

Publicity Officer: Jennifer Taylor

Year and Course:​ Postgrad Masters by Research

Role: I advertise the society and its events, such as guest lecturers, career days, socials and seminars. I also keep the AHGS Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn and website updated, and administrate the AHGS Community Exchange Facebook page.

Email: jennifer.l.taylor@durham.ac.uk

Year Representatives: Abby Robinson (1st & 2nd-year Rep), Estelle Liu (3rd-year Rep), Maeve McLaughlin (4th-year Rep) & Imogen Bailes (Postgrad Rep)

Year and Course:​ 2nd-year BSc Geology, 3rd-year MSci Earth Sciences, 4th-year MSci Earth Sciences (Geology) & Postgrad Masters by Research

Role: Our job is to facilitate communication between students of the different year groups and the AHGS, allowing students opinions to be voiced and providing details of all society events. 

Email: ​abby.robinson@durham.ac.uk, estelle.s.liu@durham.ac.uk, maeve.e.mclaughlin@durham.ac.uk & imogen.r.bailes@durham.ac.uk

Current Executive Committee

Social Secretaries: Alex Ecclestone & Sarah O'Donnell 

Year and Course:​ Both 3rd-year BSc Geology

Role: Organise social events, including field trips and the much-anticipated annual Geology Ball. 

Email: alexander.m.ecclestone@durham.ac.uk & sarah.o’donnell@durham.ac.uk

Est 1949.

ARTHUR HOLMES

GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY


President: Alice Slattery

Year and Course:​ 4th-year MSci Earth Sciences (Environmental Geoscience)

Role: I plan and oversee the day-to-day running of the society, and help support the Exec Team. Please feel free to get in touch with any comments or suggestions for the society.

Email: alice.l.slattery@durham.ac.uk

Outreach Officer: Jenny Barlow

Year and Course:​ 3rd-year BSc NatSci (Geology & Geography)

Role: I organise collaborations between the AHGS and other societies including the Geology for Global Development and the North Eastern Geological Society to encourage interest in geology, through lecture series, events and public participation.

Email: jennifer.barlow@durham.ac.uk